Thoughts on Selling Patterns Online

I am pleasantly surprised at my success at selling my crochet patterns on the internet. I listed my first pattern, Crochet X-Stitch Shrug on Etsy  around May 1, 2012 and it sold like crazy right away and it’s still my best-selling pattern. But I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around the whole marketing, promoting, social-whatever stuff involved. I do know that part of it is continuously self-publishing patterns for sale and for free, which is the funnest part and the part I am continuously excited and inspired about.

I need a resource, and I’m sure it’s out there, on how to gather all my sales data, shop stats, keywords, tags on each of the sites I sell on – Ravelry, Craftsy and Etsy – and then I need someone to tell me what to do with it!

Hmm, random thought…a smartphone may help too! I still have a stupid phone.

Should I keep Pinning my patterns over and over again on Pinterest or is that a waste of time?

Does it still work to relist everyday on Etsy or is that a waste of time and money now that they changed how you browse (I don’t see the sort option anymore to sort by latest listings)?

I DON’T UNDERSTAND HOW TO ADVERTISE ON RAVELRY. PERIOD.

How can I promote my stuff on Craftsy?

Will it just piss off my followers on Twitter if I tweet about the same patterns all the time? I notice Red Heart Yarns does this and it does get a bit annoying.

Anyway, this is my cry out in the dark for a savior/mentor/mommy, preferably a free one.

Leave a Reply

